Camino Portugués

The Camino Portugués (Caminho Português in Portuguese) is the route from Portugal to Santiago de Compostela, and the second most popular among all the Caminos. Some start it from the southern coast of Portugal, some from Lisbon, some from Porto and others from Valença or Tui on the Portuguese-Spanish border. Some Useful Info for Pilgrims

Camino de Muxía

The Camino de Muxía is sort of an alternative epilogue to the Camino. It starts in Santiago de Compostela and ends in Muxía, at the sanctuary of A Virxe da Barca. According to tradition, the Virgin Mary came here in a stone boat to encourage Saint James who was preaching there. Some walk to Muxía …

Camino de Muxía Read More »

Camino de Fisterra

The Camino de Fisterra is, to many, the natural continuation and epilogue to the Camino Francés, or any other Camino. It starts in Santiago de Compostela and runs to Fisterra (more precisely, to Cape Fisterra) on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean. Fisterra (Finisterre in Spanish, finis terræ in Latin) means ‘the end of the …

Camino de Fisterra Read More »

Camino Primitivo

The Camino Primitivo is the oldest of all the Caminos. It starts in Oviedo, and joins the Camino Francés at Melide, but some pilgrims walking the Camino del Norte start it from Villaviciosa. It was in Oviedo, then capital city of Asturias in 813, that King Alfonso II was informed of the discovery of the …

Camino Primitivo Read More »

Via Francigena

The Via Francigena follows the footsteps of Sigeric the Serious, Archbishop of Canterbury, who walked the way to Rome and back to be consecrated by the Pope at the end of the 10th century. History The Via Francigena is an ancient road between Rome and Canterbury, passing through England, France, Switzerland and Italy. In mediaeval …

Via Francigena Read More »

Camino Portugués Interior

The Caminho Português Interior (Caminho Português Interior in Portuguese) starts from Farminhão, near Viseu, and crosses into Spain after Chaves to join the southern branch of the Camino Sanabrés at Verín.

Camino Francés

The Camino Francés, the ‘classical’ Camino route runs from Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port in France through Pamplona, Burgos, León and Astorga to Santiago de Compostela in Spain. Useful Info for Pilgrims:

Scroll to Top